My new home

From today I have started to host my blog on wordpress.com. My old blog won’t be active anymore and will die slowly until I’ll take it offline. So, say hello to my new hoster🙂

I will try that my new blog will look like my old one. Maybe it take some time before everything is working 100%, so be patient. Everything will be back online on this site.

Update: It seems that I can’t include videos from vimeo or photostreams from picasa. If anyone knows how to do that, let me know. I don’t have the time right now look into the wordpress forums to find out. Thanks.

  1. #1 by rfist@archlinux on 22. September 2010 - 14:16

    You should go to your profile and check this:
    Visual Editor x Disable the visual editor when writing

    Then you’ll just have to paste the embed code in your post.

    • #2 by ise on 22. September 2010 - 14:22

      That didn’t help. I have done this and after saving a post, only the URL to the embedded code is insert. Maybe wordpress.com doesn’t allow embedding code or iframe into the posts. Have to look deeper into this issue. Thanks anyway

      • #3 by ise on 22. September 2010 - 14:26

        I have found the problem. Like it is described here: http://en.support.wordpress.com/code/
        It’s forbidden to embed html tags like and which I would need for that. Luckily vimeo is allowed, maybe some other sites are allowed, have to check it.

      • #4 by rfist@archlinux on 22. September 2010 - 21:55

        Why don’t you install your own wordpress blog somewhere else? There are a lot of free hosting sites which let you do it. Or maybe host it with a dyndns type of service on your own server on Arch😉

      • #5 by ise on 22. September 2010 - 23:16

        I have done that before and it was too much administration work in my spare time to update to the latest wordpress release, maintaining the plugins, etc. That’s the reason I switched over to wordpress.com. I was too lazy to do all the administrative tasks in my rare spare time.

Leave a Reply

